‘Dead’ Tweeting by Jess Cosentino

https://twitter.com/charie__/status/399737058815901696

This is just a small sample of the thousands of different tweets with the hashtag #TurnAndCough from Sunday night’s episode of The Walking Dead. Most of the tweets I saw were of a combination of the “OMG” moments that were happening on the show, because there were a lot of them, and then there were easily a few hundred just about the last 4 seconds of the episode and twitter exploded with variations between hate and love for this one character that has returned after being gone all of this season thus far. I didn’t see any this side or that arguing with the other, but I did notice there was a small contingent of people who seemed to be hate watching the show, then complaining about it, but I’d say that was the very small, at most 5% of the total. Some of the tweets I posted were lines from the show or they were funny interpretations of what is going on in society today and where people watching the show think it may end up, like with ObamaCare. I think in a show of this type, it is kind of hard to objectify someone, mainly because they are usually barely clean, or covered in blood, muck, and dirt. I also did not see any racism, either inferential or overt, in the tweets, but there was an aknowledgment of race and how it is a factor in the show, as shown by the last tweet I posted. It was interesting live tweeting a show I really enjoy watching because other people were having the same reactions I was to the show and it was almost like I was watching it with other people, even though I was alone in my living room. It was definitely an experience and I think I may do it in the future, especially with other shows that I find very interesting. I think the fact that networks will establish a hashtag for a specific episode of a show, as well as one for the entire show itself, just promotes the fan culture and it allows people to obsess with others about their passions. Networks are learning what works in keeping people’s attention, and now, instead of wondering why they show is doing well or is failing in the ratings, they have access to the instant thoughts, then afterthoughts, of an entire group of people who watched the show and they can see where the majority is leaning to and see if a show is worth keeping around for another season, and writers can take into account what fans want to see more of. There will always be people hate watching a show, but I think the lovers of a show outweigh the haters, 9 times out of every 10. I definitely enjoyed live tweeting with one exception; people were tweeting so fast I could barely keep up while still watching the show, especially when something really huge happened, then Twitter blew up with tweets. Oh, and there was one more thing I found very interesting, especially at 9 PM on a Sunday night; #TurnAndCough was trending on Twitter at number 4 I believe. So that made watching the tweets even more fun because not all Primetime shows will trend when they are aired initially.

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

