Joseph McCulty’s Pinterest Adventure!!!

Knowing that Pinterest is considered to be the domain of women, just as the Wilson & Yochim piece says, I decided to use my favorite female alias in order to snoop around undetected. In preparation for this assignment, I looked up a handful of friends and scoured through their pins. To them it appeared as though Josephine Ventresca was curious about their weddings and DIY projects, but, unbeknownst to the likes of Sarah, Kayla, and Victoria, and cleverly disguised by my handle (notjoemcculty), I was secretly searching through their pins to find that reinforced domesticity I think I was supposed to be looking for.

Here is what I found.

Everyone has a wedding board. Absolutely Everyone. I took the liberty of pulling out a few pins that I thought were representative of the larger picture I saw – I didn’t want to be redundant. Within “wedding” boards, I saw rings on rings on rings. I saw proposal ideas/demands. I saw other people’s “perfect” weddings shot-by-shot. I must admit, I was immediately sucked in by all those images – that pleasure in looking, it DOES exist. But, at any rate, I definitely saw the consumerism, competition, and princess fantasy we talked about in class and saw in Four Weddings.

But we already knew all about that. Moving on to the DIY, food, and cleaning parts of Pinterest, I looked for the reinforced domestic role mentality. I’m not going to lie, some of it was extremely overt. One pin had an image of a kitchen and a description in which it was referred to as a woman’s space. There was another one about cleaning things that I added to my board. I can’t really say if that’s intended to be shared throughout the family or not, but I’m sure there are some miracle-moms out there who would use it to look like superstars – masters of the domestic role. There are some self-obsessive beauty routines drawn out, an emphasis on fashion and materialism, and yes, some of it is outlandish. And, reflecting upon it honestly, I must say that I love it. Especially the food. Don’t you dare talk smack about the food.

Works Cited.

Wilson, J. & Yochim, E (2013).  Pinning happiness: Affect, social media, and women’s work.

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

