Charlandrea Pettis (Pintrest Activity)

First of all I really want to emphasize how much I loved my experience on pintrest. Pintrest contained pins with recipes for baking, nail art ideas and home decor. These things have always been very interesting for me, so seeing a website that contained them all was awesome. Secondly I noticed that majority of the users were female and most of the female users were middle aged. These users commented on the things they believed were interesting and posted pins of their own. Another thing that was noticed during my experience was also noted in the article Pinning happiness and that was how Pintrest showed ideas of traditional and gendered work for females. Throughout my experience I did not see one male user. As I mentioned before the pin boards were mostly of things that are considered mostly of female interests.The Pining happiness article  often mentioned that most users were of the middle class. I noticed that also in the humor page im following, which often comments on people with government assistance and rich individuals. There is a humor image located in my board titled ” Fun things” that represents this.  I wanted  to also comment on the home decor pictures . These pictures were often commented on by women who wanted their homes to be decorated the same way. Everything on pintrest seemed so alive. During my exploring of this social media site I created a board of my own it contains beauty and health pictures. In all the pictures it also shows only women.This is the link to my board  www.pintrest.com/charlandrea/boards   .

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

