Pinterest Activity- Amanda Kaebel

I created my Pinterest account several months ago to get ideas for my new home.  I then used it to get makeup and fitness ideas, where I noticed that every woman was predominately white, even fitness.  I mean, do women of color not work out?  Looking at the topics to choose from, I found home decor, food & drinks, healthy & beauty, women’s fashion, etc.  When I clicked on them, there was no surprise that women’s faces popped up. During my Pinterest experience, I decided to search the word “Beautiful.”  Although pictures of nature and animals came up, white women also came up.  I did not find one woman of color.  I then decided to search the words “Beautiful Women” and “Sexy Women” and once again, white women popped up.  Not only were these women white, they were all stick thin.  I do not think that I found a women over 130 pounds.  When I clicked the link to “popular” and “everything,” once again, white women popped up.  Christmas themes of white families and portraits popped up.  It took me awhile to finally find ONE woman of color.

When I searched for “cheap wedding ideas,” I found almost all country themed weddings, with predominately white, heterosexual couples. I think it is funny that when I typed in “cheap wedding ideas,” most of these ideas were not cheap.  There were still very elegant and seemed fairly expensive.  The last thing that I noticed for the wedding ideas was that all of the ideas were the same.  There was not a significant difference in the themes of weddings posted on Pinterest.  So does everyone want the exact same wedding?

“Pinterest makes the mundane labors of domesticity professional, artistic, and inspiring.”  (Wilson & Yochim pg. 3)  It angers me that Pinterest is directed toward “moms,” and is supposed to help women take on the domestic role. “Pinterest relentlessly reinforces gendered ideologies and norms, as the ‘good’ mom on Pinterest is ever-crafting, ever-cooking, & ever-teaching” (Wilson & Yochim).  I do not like that moms on Pinterest are portrayed as crafty and always cooking.  Why is there no working mothers shown on Pinterest?

I used to love Pinterest, but now, not so much.  I cannot help but the think intersectionally when I use Pinterest because it wasn’t until this activity that I realize how little women of color are used and how “beautiful families” are known to be heterosexual.  Pinterest is supposed to help give inexpensive ideas to (white, upper class, heterosexual) families, although it is directed to everyone.  If this was the case, more women of color, men, and lower class would be presented more in these pins.

http://www.pinterest.com/akaebel3/

Wilson, Julie A. Yochim, Emily C. Pinning Happiness: Affect, Social Media, and Women’s Work. 2013.  Print.

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

