Joe’s Pinterest Experience

By: Joe Majka

I created a Pinterest account and found some very interesting things that I would like to discuss.  First of all, as Wilson and Yochim put it, “The affective networks of Pinterest can thus be seen as passing the potential for happiness around. The platform provides a hub where mothers can seek out, preserve, and share happy objects, for it is a place where the expectation of happiness abounds.”  This quote from the article explains exactly what Pinterest is.  It is a place where moms can go if they’re having a bad day and feel better about their lives.  Matchar also describes Pinterest, and other “Mommy blogs,” as the “June Cleaver 2.0”, where moms can blog about their kids, DIY crafts, recipes, and much more.  When I went on Pinterest, I decided that I was going to “pin” everything that I liked and also some things that I didn’t like so much.  I pinned things like my favorite musicians like Lana Del Rey, Lady Gaga, and Hayley Williams to facts about my favorite books and movies like Harry Potter.  I also pinned fun DIY crafts, men’s fashion, Christmas decorations, and food that I thought looked delicious.  However, on top of the things that I liked, I also pinned things that I didn’t like.  What I mean by “I didn’t like” is that I pinned things that I found interesting relating to their underlying meaning about the site as a whole.  Pinterest, as many already know, is definitely appealing to white, heterosexual, females, ranging from teenagers to adults.  It doesn’t really appeal to men and homosexuals.  This I thought was very interesting.  So what I did was I pinned a couple of the things I found were curious.  For example, as you can see on my board I have a picture of multiple couples posing with their arms from behind or their arms around the waist.  There are a total of 6 different couples and none of them are gay or lesbian couples.  I even searched “gay” on Pinterest and all I found were pictures of shirtless men, suggesting that most people on Pinterest just like to look at shirtless men rather than looking at same-sex couples.  What I also found interesting was the amount of baby pictures with their heterosexual parents on Pinterest.  Don’t get me wrong, I love babies, but the fact that there were little to no pictures of babies with two moms or two dads was a little disappointing.  Finally, when I searched “Women’s Fashion” on Pinterest almost all the women were white and I couldn’t seem to find any women of color, well, at least there were none that were “popular” or had many pins or likes.  This is probably because most of the people on this site are white women.  Overall, my Pinterest experience was fun, but I just don’t think it’s the site for me.

Link for “Joe’s Board”:  http://www.pinterest.com/joemajka/joes-board/

Works Cited

Matchar, Emily. (From her book Homeward Bound: Why Women are Embracing the New Domesticity, 2013).  June Cleaver 2.0: Bloggers and the Rise of Domestic Chic.” Print.

Wilson, Julie Ann, and Emily Chivers Yochim. “Pinning Happiness: Affect, Social Media, and Women’s Work.” Proc. of Society for Cinema and Media Studies, Chicago, IL. 1-26. Print.

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

