Pinterest: Gay, Straight, or Domesticated

By: Sam McWhorter

I have had a Pinterest for years and my boards are filled with ideas that easily make me look like the stereotypical, consumer-driven, hyper-feminized women in today’s culture. Like Watson and Yochim theorized, I my board even seems to be pushing me into the dome of domesticity with simple DIY Crafts, endless recipes, and of course organizational tips for the home and apartment. When pinning, I pin because I like the way the clothes look or think that I might be able to attempt the craft. One of my guy friends has a Pinterest and his categories are “Places”, “Quotes”, and “Sports”. Beneath these three categories, he has 13 pins. And in the “Places” categories there are three pins of models lying proactively on exotic beach locations.  Pinterest is just being using as another mode of media to showcase this person’s perceived, culturally-constructed, manliness. Another one of my friends, a homosexual male college student, has a Pinterest that with boards titled; “Breakfast”, “Crockpot Recipes”, “Desserts”, “Drink!!! Alcoholic and more…”, “Food!!!”, “fruit”, “snacks”, “fitness”, “hair styles”, “My style”, “tattoo ideas”, “my idol”, “my products”, “Art”, “CRAFTS”, “Harry Potter Party Ideas”, “Halloween”, “Canning and gardening”, “For the Home”, “outside and nature”, “Animals J”, “Favorite Places and Spaces”, and “Trips”(this is only the half of them).  Again, I think that this is a fine example of Pinterest highlighting what our society has come to perceive in real life as stereotypical homosexual male behavior. So whether the Pinterest user is gay, straight, or domesticated, I think Pinterest plays a large role reinforcing certain gender and culture-created roles.

Here is the link to my Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/samanthaleigh24/boards/

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

