Pinterest Reflection: Dreaming of Happiness

By Taylor Shanley

     Before this assignment, I hadn’t been on Pinterest in about a year. I remember first creating one after falling into the peer pressure of my friends and wondering why they always talked about the stupid site. They would talk about how they wasted hours planning their dream weddings and looking up DIY crafts. I had tried to get as involved in the site as them but could simply not make myself sit on the computer for two hours and play on a website. However, I did have fun with this assignment. The focus of my board is to compile pictures and ideas of my home with my two best friends next year. Recently, my roommate and our best friend decided to rent a home together next year and since then, we haven’t stopped talking about homes and already looking for future leases. We continuously talk about what it’s going to look like, what amenities it’s going to have, and how it is going to be decorated. Pinterest allowed me to fulfill this dream of the home and what fun, creative things we can do to it (if we can afford it..).

     In their article, Wilson and Yochim quote, “We might think of Pinterest as organizing products and practices that promise happiness: indeed, as its tagline announces, the cheerful site houses, ‘A few (million) of your favorite things.'” When browsing through pictures of rooms and pinning pictures of projects I’d like to do with my roommates and rooms that totally inspired what I wanted my home to look like next year, I felt like these pictures made me happy and excited. When these projects are achieved next year, I assume I will feel even more happiness. When finding only a few pictures and ideas among many, I also felt like I was one falling into the slogan of the website and finding a few out of a million of favorable ideas.

     Though I enjoyed creating my board, I did feel like I was falling into being the stereotypical user of the site. I am a white, middle-class (before college living of course) girl looking at DIY projects that I can most likely afford. This also made me reflect upon the description of the tasks of a Colonial woman and the DIY projects she had to do in order to live in Matchar’s article. Though we could simply buy a dresser, many people use sites like Pinterest to find instructions to make their own dressers or clean up old ones bought at thrift stores. Why is this appealing? Are we still stuck in the instinctive DIY mindset of Colonial women?

    Even if we are by instinct attracted to these DIY projects and ideas, Pinterest allows an outlet for us to portray this creative vibe and display what we define as our ideal happiness.

This is the link to my board: http://www.pinterest.com/taylorshanley/college-dream-home/

    

 

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

