Pinterest Reflection : Kristina Sossa

I had signed up for Pinterest a few years ago because when I first heard of the website it sounded really interesting. I went on it once and have not been on until this project came along simply because I found no joy in using it. After reading the piece by Wilson and Yochim I decided to make my pin board full of objects that would make me happy someday, so I called it my “what I would put in my castle” board. I want a rather large house someday, so I figured I would use the resources of Pinterest to get an idea of what I want the decor to look like and what sort of additional features could be added to the house. I pinned beautiful decor and rooms, none of which I will probably be able to afford, and instead of making me happy it did not really have an effect on me. Unlike the happiness that comes with family as the article discusses, I see no family in any of my pins. Only pictures of a luxury lifestyle. So maybe unlike these mothers who use Pinterest for DIY crafts with their children and holiday recipes,  my happiness is not based on a family lifestyle but a more self based one.  I think that Wilson and Yochim only accounted for the moms and DIY people that they did not include the Pinterest bloggers like me, who would use it to find material objects. Then again I did not really find the website as useful as those types of people. I am probably one of the few girls who actually like Pinterest since the stereotype for Pinterest is girls looking for wedding ideas, crafts , recipes, ect. and I do not think Yochim and Wilson took that into account when writing Pinning Happiness: Affect, Social Media, and Women’s Work.

My Pinterest Board: http://www.pinterest.com/krissssssi/for-my-future-castle/

Wilson, Julie A. Yochim, Emily C. Pinning Happiness: Affect, Social Media, and Women’s Work. 2013.  Print.

Leave a Reply

Dwell on These Things

Designing Plan C

FlowTV

a critical forum on television and media culture

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

In Media Res

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

WGSS 2230:

Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Pop Culture. Feminist cultural critiques happen here.

